Oaths of Office, July 1897

July 10-14, 1897

Captain Richard H. Pratt submits oaths of office from twelve newly appointed employees (Gertrude E. Simmons, Louisa Geisdorff, Mabel M. Buck, Delia Randell, Cora Wheeler, Alex B. Upshaw, Vincent Nahtailsh, James R. Wheelock, James D. Flannery, Thomas Marshall, Taylor Smith, and William Colombe). Pratt also notes that two other employees (Ella Rickert and Sara E. Smith) have been nominated to positions, but they are not at the school and have not yet signed their oaths.

Note: Gertrude Simmons later became known as Gertrude Simmons Bonnin and Zitkala-Sa. 

Read Documents
Time Period
Standard Forms & Transactions
National Archives and Records Administration
RG 75, Entry 91, box 1437, 1897-#28400
Oaths of Office, July 1897